Successes in your career in the Philippines

Hello,

Becoming an expat means starting over in a new country, and a lot of times that also means starting over in your career as well.

How have your skills and experiences evolved since moving to the Philippines?

What does being successful in your career mean to you?

Can you share some tips about what to do and what to avoid in order to advance in your professional career in the Philippines?

Can you share an inspirational career story with us?

Did you have to change careers or adapt your career to fit the job demands in the Philippines?

How do you balance a successful career with your personal and social life?

What are the benefits of having work experience in different countries?

Thank you for sharing your experience,

Priscilla

Hello, I have been an expat for over 11 years. Living and working at different countries. Recently we have decided to move back to my wife's home country.
Being a pilot, I was always invited to come and work at a new country to help and establish the citizen pilots acquire necessary experience.

Now that we are moving to a country I am not a native of and find that the aviation professionals do not need my experience, however I would like to become gainfully employed with such a fine group of aviators.

The trouble is that usually a company hired, moved me and made arrangement to facilitate the licensing issues. Now that I am on my own I find it difficult to navigate the many offices required. First on the agenda is to apply for ACR, then apply for the CAAP livening for both my ICAO and FAA Helicopter and Fixed Wing ATPL's.

In the meantime I will make myself busy at our Quezon farm setting up feed/fertilizer and LPG bulk sales and starting a fish farm as well as poultry.
This is very farm from my profession, yet that is the beauty of the Philippines. We are able to venture into the different aspects that would not be available in Canada.