Student Visa to Employment Pass conversion

@Gravitas

Hi,

I am currently in 3rd year of PhD in Malaysian university (on a student visa) and have not yet graduated.
However, I got a job offer from a multinational company in Penang (1 year contract and extendable based on the performance).

(In order to get employment pass, I need to cancel my student visa - Rule of Malaysian Immigration).

Thus, I deferred (discontinued) my PhD for one year, cancelled my student visa and exited Malaysia and currently waiting in my home country, India. 

Now I have passed all the scanned documents (accepted offer letter, certificates, photographs, cancelled student pass and exit stamp) to my employer.
My employer have submitted my EP III application on 2nd April 2018 to ESD Malaysia.

I would like to know,

1)Whether the EP application will be approved and VDR/VAL be approved in my case?

2) ESD Portal says, date of decision will be within 5 working days after 2nd April. Is it really that they will give a decision on my EP approval in the stated time period (by April 9th, 2018)?

Looking forward to hear from someone to my queries.

I think you may have issues because of you being a PhD student and such a low salary (Cat. III)

The 5 working days is after all the pre-approvals have been received by ESD.  These include probably the Ministry of Education because you were a student (No Objection Letter) then whichever sector body governing the type of job you have been offered.

Whether there has been a proper competitive selection process for the position will be important.  Secondly, whether the job could be done by a Malaysian therefore no need to hire a foreigner. You will need 2-3 years' relevant employment experience to the job offer too.

I would expect some issues to arise, plus everything in Penang is much slower than in KL.