Moving to Ngong, Nairobi

I have been in Kenya for nearly four years, living in Nakuru and traveling a bit.  I am married to a Kenyan woman, a Kikuyu.  We are about to move to Ngong, Nairobi.  How is the walking in the neighborhood with respect to safety.  In particular, the area that is north of Ngong town (on the opposite side of Ngong town from Ngong Hills), walking to east from there.  Thanks for any information.  David

Morning
First of all, I would like to welcome you to Ngong. I am a resident of Ngong and I would say that it is a safe place for walking.

Good to hear and thanks for your reply.

When we lived in Nairobi, Ngong used to have a real security problem, with plenty of high profile robberies.  People with money had moved out there, as it was cheaper to buy and build, then the same people would be robbed - often at their gates.   Personally, I'd choose Karen.

Perhaps things are better now.

Walking on the Ngong Hills without a guide to provide security was an invitation to be mugged - certainly fairly recent traveller reviews suggest that going in a group, with security is still highly recommended.

From what I have been told a guide is required for walking in Ngong Hills.  Thanks for your reply, Longonot62; I'm getting mixed reviews on safety in Ngong (I am asking in places other than here as well).

More information is still sought, so anyone reading this, especially foreigners or wives of foreigners who walk a lot, I am happy to hear from.

I am from Ngong, I live there and a Kikuyu, I wouldn't recomend you to settle there due to security issues, especially you being white. Its ok for a middle class and native/kikuyu settle for Karen. As for walking to ngong hills must have a guide.

Welcome to the city under the sun.