Moving To Vietnam In 2018

Hello,

I'm a disabled USAF vet and will be moving with my wife to (hopefully) Vung Tau later this year. I was actually born in Saigon and left when I was 4 yrs. old. I'm working on completing my BA and will be enrolling in either a CELTA or TESOL/TEFL program in the hopes of taking a job teaching ESL. I hear nothing but good things about Vung Tau and want to establish my home base there whilst touring the country.

I'm hoping to make new friends and connections and would love to learn as much as I can before returning. Thanks for giving me the mic :)

If your disability requires you to use a wheelchair, VN is not the place for you.  NO consideration is given to wheelchair access to footpaths, houses,   hotels, restaurants, supermarkets  bused, trains, or to any where else.

You may want to teach in order to keep active but one nice thing about having a pension is that you will not have to put up with crap from employers.  You can walk at any time.

Not in a wheelchair just YET lol. I'm still quite active, but I do draw a monthly payment for hearing loss and a back injury - non-combat-related. Thank you, though! I have buddies who will need to take that into consideration before moving out.

That's a good point! I plan to teach anyway, but it's good to have something to fall back on especially if the working conditions are not suitable. Thank you!

Born in Vietnam? then your 'expat path' is missing a leg.
Also, never heard an American who said 'whilst'!
Vung Tao is a good choice.

Missing a leg? Could you clarify this?

I know a lot of educated Americans who use "whilst" ;)  I have a lot of friends from England as well ;)

Thanks for making me feel welcome to VT.

You haven't mentioned relatives.   Do you have known relatives in Vietnam?  If so you might want to relocate near them, but then again you might want to stay far away.   :cool: