New members of the Philippines forum, introduce yourselves here - 2018

Hi all,

Newbie on the Philippines forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in the Philippines if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

Hello everyone!

My name is Jon and I'm a professional translator/writer/editor (English-French), working mostly online as a freelancer. I am seriously contemplating a move to the Philippines and pursuing my online work from there. I haven't had a chance to visit just yet as I'm gathering information to see if this would be feasible.

I've started reading posts on the forum and I'm glad that most members here are making relatively positive/neutral interventions; I'm always cautious when there's too much sugar coating or ranting.

I've been chatting with some Filipinas for the past couple of weeks and some of them have been a great help, but most have never traveled within the country and couldn't give me a portrait of the differences between regions. That's why I'll be counting on you guys to give me a personal review of the place you've been living in if it fits my criteria. I'll be posting another topic on that subject very soon.

Hope I can meet some of you when I get there for a visit!

Jon from Montreal, Quebec.

Hi Everyone,

I have just recently joined up to this site,
After many trips to the Philippines over the years and getting closer to retirement I thought its a good now to start learning about all there is to know about permanent living in the Philippines, as well as to make contact with Aussie Expats living in Cebu.
I travel to the Philippines at least twice a year to see my fiancé who lives currently in Cebu, I was there recently over the Xmas/New Year period.