New members of the Georgia forum, introduce yourselves here - 2018

Hi all,

Newbie on the Georgia forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in Georgia if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

Hey all,
I am Alan from Tehran Iran,57 yo semi retired but wanna move to Tbilisi and might open a Cafe and just play with life.

Hello everyone.  I am a American that married a Georgian almost 5 years ago. We bought a apartment next to Vera Park 2 years ago. Took almost 2 years to remodel it, but here now :)  My background is 26 years in Engineering and Construction of large oil/gas pipeline projects throughout the U.S.  I also spent about 6 years owning my own construction company building large homes and was a Project Manager on the World Trade Center Project in New York City as well.  I decided to take a break from work in the US and just living in Tbilisi now.  I am growing a bit bored, so I need to find something that my education and talent could go to good use.  Starting a business here would be something, but the investment would have to be in US dollars and the return is in GEL. This is not the greatest return for the risk.  I would be better off keeping my money invested in US and having returns in US dollar.  So, thought more on the government side.  Only problem is I only speak English.

Welcome, Alan.  You will enjoy Tbilisi.  I am a picky American lol and love the country.  Only thing I really hate are that 95% of the population smokes 95% of the time. lol    One of my favorite friends at work in Houston, Tx was from Tehran.  His wife was a doctor there and they left to the US to get his PhD in Engineering.  One the most kindest and respectable persons I've ever known,  Hadi Babaei.