I am a civil engineer and want to move to NZ. Need advice.

Hi. I want to develop my skills and knowledge in the construction industry. I have 10 years experience as a civil engineer in Indonesia. I've been working at consultants and NGOs in different areas. I just finished my master degree in Queensland, Australia. I applied for more than 25 jobs in NZ last year, but no one gives me a call for the interview. I updated my CV following NZ style already. I almost give up. Should I apply for a skilled immigrant visa first (my occupation is on the shortage list), but this visa including stage to be a permanent resident, which I want to think about it later after I found a job. And should I be registered at Engineer NZ (IPENZ) to get a job there? Please anyone who has been through this condition or any suggestion about this matter? Thank you in advance.

Register with IPENZ.

Thanks, Stumpy. I registered for Engineer Australia in 2016, is it recognized in NZ?

You still need to register in NZ as well.

Thank you. Just got approval of my IPENZ application today. I am working for another step for visa application now.

IPENZ (Engineers NZ) generally approves your engineering qualifications with the equivalency of WAS (Washington Accord). However, for getting the status of an approved engineer, you need CPENG (Certified Professional Engineer). Trust this would help.

Hi Schaz. Thank you for your advice. To obtain CPENG is my final goal actually. I am working on that as well.  Hopefully, it will work smoothly.

Queenika07 wrote:

Hi Schaz. Thank you for your advice. To obtain CPENG is my final goal actually. I am working on that as well.  Hopefully, it will work smoothly.

Best of luck! That basically certifies you officially as an Engineer in your respected field. Let me know in case if you need any assistance as I had undergone these processes.