Canadian wanting to marry a Brazilian and move to Brazil

I'm currently living in Canada and she lives in Brazil.  After reading a lot I'll have to reapply for my birth certificate (lost it again). 

I have enough money to perhaps live for a couple of years conservatively in Brazil, so once I receive my tourist visa I guess I could just move.  I am a programmer and I've heard there is an English speaking tech scene in Sao Paulo, the city I'd be moving to.

But I'm currently setup with a nice room and well paying job in Canada right now and she has indicated she has always wanted to see what it is like living here.  I can easily have her live comfortably with me for an extra $150/month, which is how much extra my landlord wanted.

She still needs to apply for her Brazilian passport and Canadian Visa.

So what is the best way to go about this?  Assuming minimising time away from each other, troublesomeness, delays from seeing each other and working etc?

I've even hinted at the fact that Colombia requires no travel visa for either of us.

Thanks,

John

Hey, John,
I would strongly suggest bringing her to Canada, marrying there, and applying for your Brazilian permanent residency visa at the nearest Brazilian Consulate.  My husband and I did it that way in the US this past Summer (we're in Brazil now), and it seems so much easier and more straightforward than getting married and changing your status here.  Your marriage is legally recognized in both countries:  you register your Canadian marriage certificate at the Consulate, and they give you a document to present to the Cartório in your fiancée's hometown, and that's it.  You can always have a second reception when you get here.