Average Salary and Tax in Bulgaria

Hi,

I got an offer from a Bulgarian company located in Sofia.
I am a software professional. They offered me 80,000 BGN per annum.
   1. Is it good amount to live in Sofia with family?
   2. What is average salary per annum for software professionals there?
   3. What will be the income tax?
   4. What is the living cost there?

Expecting reply soon.

Regards,
ST

Hi ST2512,

Welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I have moved your topic on the Sofia forum for better visibility.

I hope other members will adivse you very soon.

Wish you good luck
Christine

Hello, some answers to your questions although I need to check some details, I am able to provide some info.

1/ depending on your life style, but generally it should be more than enough.

2/ again depends, mainly on what we consider "software professionals". Senior software developers may start at 28000 BGN per annum.

3/ the official one might be around 30% of the income.

4/ again depending on life style, but I consider Sofia as a cheap city compared with other European ones.

Glad if I can help further or you need any other detail.

Cheers.

Hi,

My partner is a senior software developer from the UK (C++, PHP) with many years' experience. We live in the Varna area. He was recently offered a job 24,000 BGN per year (after deductions) so 80,000 is amazing. Just make sure that they give you a contract and - if it is in Bulgarian - get it translated before you sign.

Regarding cost of living - a couple who own their own home can live reasonably comfortably on around 1000 - 1500 BGN per month after deductions. If you want to be able to go out regularly, go away for holidays, etc, you need a bit more. Equally, if you don't buy a property, there will be rent to pay.

If anybody offers you any other jobs at 80K - and you don't want them, pass them our way.:D

Hello ST,
I'm struggling with the same questions as you..