EP holder minimum salary

Hi. I graduated my engineering degree back in 2016. I got a job as a Corrosion Engineer in mid Jan 2017. My company sponsored my EP and my fixed salary is S$2,200. Recently I've just realised that the minimum salary for EP holder is S$3,600. Am I being cheated by my employer? I don't want my EP to be downgraded to SP, and of course I wanna get the minimum wage. What should I do now?

How you called that your EP was down graded? Your company never applied an EP with a monthly fixed salary of $2200. This is the minimum salary to eligible for a S pass application. Where is the issue of down graded then? Or you are trying to say earlier you had an EP and now a new company offering you $2200 (only eligible to apply for S pass)?

For second part of your query, you can do two things either reject this offer then look for a new job opportunity with a new employer. Or, negotiate for a better package with this employer, but don't think this employer will agree to hike your salary from $2200 to $3600 in order for you to eligible to apply EP (but no guarantee that it will approve).

Even with the current package, there is no guarantee that S pass will approve. Good luck

Hi Surya. Thanks for your reply.

I think you got it wrongly. Here's the full story,

I graduated in Sept 2016. Got a job in Malaysia under company A, a month later my manager from Singapore request me to be transfer to Singapore under company B(sg based). Company A and B are owned by the same people, company B is the HQ. So the people in Company B prepared everything for me, I don't know the process, minimum requirements and so on. So I officially became an employee of company B started from 16th Jan 2017, the prepared my EMPLOYMENT PASS, with salary S$2,200. And just recently I have realized that minimum wage for EP should be S$3,600. So I've been working for almost a year now..