Getting a driving license in Mexico

Hello,
I would like to ask how complicated it is for a german foreigner to get a mexican driver license. I don't have a german driver license but I need to be mobile when moving to Mexico.

Thorstenk wrote:

Hello,
I would like to ask how complicated it is for a german foreigner to get a mexican driver license. I don't have a german driver license but I need to be mobile when moving to Mexico.

That's an interesting question. I believe you would need some sort of license to drive period, to rent a car and to satisfy the police. If I were you I would get a license in my country. With a license you can drive in Mexico without a Mexican license.

I didn't bother to get a Mexican license until I was a permanent resident. I just drove on my U.S. license.

As for getting a license in Mexico it is pretty simple, fill out the paperwork answer the questions about health , have an eye test perhaps. This goes quickly if they see you already have a license.

Thanks for the feedback. The problem is that I will not have the option to get a license in Germany due to the fact that I am living currently in China and would have to go directly from China to Mexico. So there ist still the question if there is theoretically the chance to get a mexican licence.

Yes, you can but first you must have your residency status (temporary or permanent) with your CURP, your CFE bill were you live in Mexico with your rental agreement in spanish.

We will have to pass a written exam but I don't think a driving test, your first licence would be valid for 1 year and then renewed for 3 years (if you intend to drive a pickup truck, you have to request the "chofer" licence not  "automobilista", this informacíon is related to the state of Nayarit. It could vary in other states within Mexico.

Adios, GyC.

Okay Theorstenk,

So this is what I found, I have never known someone with no license at all, over 15 that is , but here is the information you need.