Teaching job in HCMC without contract. Help please.

Hi everyone I want to move to HCM to teach asap. I currently live in the Uk, I have a degree and TEFL certificate. I got a job offer in Hanoi already but I dont want to be tied down to a contract. Is it smart if I just come over to HCMC and look for work when I get there? How easy will it be and what visa will I need etc? Might I run into lega trouble ? Can anyone offer me help or advice please ?

Your best bet is to come without a job on a tourist visa and then when you find a job, the company, as long as they are reputable, will help you sort a work permit etc.

There are a lot of jobs at the moment, so you'll have no problems

jegziie wrote:

Hi everyone I want to move to HCM to teach asap. I currently live in the Uk, I have a degree and TEFL certificate. I got a job offer in Hanoi already but I dont want to be tied down to a contract. Is it smart if I just come over to HCMC and look for work when I get there? How easy will it be and what visa will I need etc? Might I run into lega trouble ? Can anyone offer me help or advice please ?

To obtain a Work Permit (WP) you must have a contract.  It is part of the package that the school submits to DOLISA (Dept. of Labor, Invalids & Social Affairs.)  My own contract was fortunately written in such a way that basically either party could break it without penalty.  I think it may have had a thirty day notice clause.  Other contracts may be more draconian with specific penalties for early termination.   Yes you can come to HCMC on a tourist visa but once you get a WP you may need to make a visa run to Cambodia to establish your new status.   Working with a WP entitles you to a Temporary Residence Card and removes the need for any visa.  Working without a WP is basically illegal.  Granted, it is a real long shot and thousands work without one, but it could lead to deportation.

Hi and welcome to the forum.