Just arrived in KL from UK looking for work

Hi there

Ive flown to KL from UK to look for work in my field, as I havent had a break through from being in the UK.

Ive read on other threads that in Malaysia it seems to be who you know more so than your quals and experience, so I'm here to build up my contacts and network around and be available physically to meet up.

I'm a Chartered Civil engineer with a Masters degree and 10 yrs experience in various sectors including rail transportation.

I want to gather some ideas on how I can network around and maybe gets some leads through here also. Does it have to be with people in the same field? I do have a couple of meetings set up from phone conversations I've had when I was in the UK, one company director from my last company and a recruitment agent. I've looked at Internations as well.

I'm also open to working in other countries in the region like Indonesia, singapore etc

MRT projects - http://siva-my.jobstreet.com/_careersit … /mymrt.htm

Robert Walters - https://www.robertwalters.com.my/

If you get a job offer you will need to leave the country while the work permit process is being carried out. (New rule since August 2016)

The golden rule in Malaysia is that you have exactly the experience required in a previous job. So it is important to highlight the match in applications.

Very often internal transfers are the way in which senior staff move in and out of Malaysia. Networking really needs to be with local Malaysians not other expats.

Thank you for your response. I did check Robert Walters but nothing related to field on there. I might have to call them.

I tried the internal transfer from the UK but they didn't want to let me go.

Leaving the country to apply for the work permit works well with me as I'd head back to the UK to meet family and friends.

Hello try to Download a muda.my
Mostly you can find your work there.
So many work's offer.

It's www.mudah.my

Yeap!!