Struggling to accept the French life

Hi all,

I am a recent graduate with a masters degree obtained here in France and about to start a new job. After 2 years of living here, I am coming to the realization that France may not be for me (although I willingly came here, adapted, became fluent in French, and tried very hard to like it). I am from the United States and I am struggling to accept the fact that there is just less variety of stores, food, affordable fashion, and basically everything as compared to the US. Before coming here, I thought the US and France would be quite similar but I am seeing I just can't get the things I need and am tired of struggling to find food I like, product and fashion variety, and just overall consumer choice and it really bothers me. I go to stores and they never have what I need and although France has amazing food, there just isn't enough variety of other food categories and I am honestly just not a fan of French food. Has anyone else experienced this after living here a certain number of years? Were you able to accept something that bothered you so much and affected your everyday life? I have desperately tried to ignore this and accept it, but after visiting other European countries like Ireland, Spain, and Italy, I noticed that France really lacks in consumer variety and is outrageously expensive when compared to these countries and it really depresses me because I feel like I am constantly over paying for crappy products that if I am lucky I can find. I didn't post this to complain, I am honestly really struggling with this here and would love your help and advice. Thank you all so much for your feedback :)

I would love to have this "problem". The things you mentioned don't bother me but I understand. I have heard others mention the lack of options.

I totally agree! France is really boring, overpriced, and no fun at all.