Buying a flat or a house in HCMC

Hello everybody,

I want to buy an apartment in HCMC and live in Vietnam. My stronger skill is marketing and business development. This means I have about 25 years experience in getting money for others.

What would the price per square meter of a house or an apartment in HCMC (district 3 or district Phu Nuan), 3 or 4 sleeping rooms + kitchen + living and dining room + 1 or 2 bathrooms + garage if possible. Budget 200 000 to 300 000 euros vietnamese price with vietnamese negotiation.

I found following information on internet:
Average salary in Vietnam 85 euros by month (2 324 857 VND). Viet-Nam is going through an important real estate crisis. Since 2010, constant price decrease. Prices have been divided by 2 because of the economic crisis.

Example district 1 in HCMC : Still expensive (600 euros rent  per month for an averaged sized apartment). Less expensive outside of district 1.

District 3 (30 to 50% less expensive for rents). Same for district Phu Nuan, in the heart of the city and not far from the airport. As a consequence, I would rather look at district 3 and Phu Nuan.

Since a few years, strong real estate speculation in HCMC and Vietnam in general because of Viet Kieu return and because new laws allowing foreigners to invest. As a consequence, it is very difficult to know the real prices and a real estate  crisis could explode.
In case of problems, you can be sure that vietnamese laws will always favour vietnamese people against foreigners.

Woul you be able to introduce some people who could advise on these topics?

Thanking you in advance,

Michel

Hi Michel,

Before you 'talk' to anyone trying to sell you a property, try to look at this website: https://batdongsan.com.vn/for-sale-district-3. It is among the most popular real estate site in VN. You can find lot of details on that. Do select English on the top left to see the site in English version. On the side note, 'batdongsan' means 'real estate' in vietnamese :D