Teaching English as a Second Language

Hi, I'm Melodie.  I've been teaching ESL for over 20 years in Riverside, California (in between Los Angeles and San Diego, California).  I have a BA in Linguistics and am fairly fluent in French (4 years in high school, 2 years in college, and lived in Normandy with a French-speaking family for a summer).  I have summers off from my job and would love to teach children or adults English during the summer.  I'd even do it for free, for the experience. 
   I'm single and very healthy.  I take no medications and I love to travel.  I'm not put off by circumstances that are not as convenient or modern as many Americans are used to. 
    I love photography, reading and writing.  I also make quilts and my own jewelry.  I could teach these crafts on a beginning level.  I want to be useful and learn about the culture and language of this beautiful little country.

Hi Melodie,

Thank you for this iniciative. I like people like you. I would like to meet you. Actually, I live in the North of the island but I can move around easily.

Let me know where you are and we can try to meet. I am a language teacher too and I teach the local language at school.

Pascal

Hi Melodie,

From your post, I gather you are looking for a teaching job in Mauritius?

I'm looking for a job there during the summer of 2018.

I am in the United States now.  I am interested in working as an ESL teacher during the summer of 2018.  Do you have any suggestions?

The thing is that Mauritius has a quite selective immigration policy when it comes to employment of foreigners.

To be able to live and work in Mauritius, you will need an 'Occupation Permit-Professional' and this is delivered only when local competency  and experience are nowhere to be found.

Your best bet would be getting in contact with private international school operating on the island. They often recruit foreign educators on mid-term or long-term contracts.