Economy in the Netherlands?

Hi all.
My name is Jessica, I am 31 and german but living in Ireland with my fiancé who is irish and our 2 kids.
He is a carpenter by trade, a very good one at that, however the economy in Ireland isn't great at all for his job and the area we live.

So I am wondering how is the economy in the Netherlands ? Especially for carpentry work?

I have seen 1 or 2 jobs advertised on indeed that state the pay is 15- 20€ an hour.
Would that be enough to live on for us as a family?

We would prefer country living but I expect his job would be better suited to close to a city or town at least.
The rent seems very high to me and probably not feasible for us but I thought I'd ask here first.

I have a qqi level 6 in early years education and a SNA qualification. I'd be looking for part time work.

But carpentry would be our bread winner if there are any jobs.

Would anyone know an area that is quite good to get jobs in this area of there are any.
Thank you in advance.

Jessica

Hi Jessica; welcome to the Forum. :)

I've always been of the opinion that a person who can work with their hands will never be out of work.  The limiting factors are how much work and will they get paid enough doing it, to live a reasonable life.

First off - can you afford to live somewhere in Holland.  The Numbeo website provides information regarding this; this link will take you there.  I've used Dublin for the comparison with Eindhoven; the site tells us that you need to earn in the region of € 3,500 net of tax and other regulatory payments and that you'll get more for your Euro in Holland, than you would in Dublin.  The costs they use are based on historical data over the past 12 months, so are always a bit behind the curve.

Secondly - getting work, to get work, you (and your partner) will really need to tick some boxes:

Relevant Qualifications - the Dutch are big on qualifications
  Relevant experience - sounds like you have that