We're gonna' call Puerto Rico our NEW FOREVER PLACE.

Our questions are in BOLD/Underline)... I did not know which category to use, as our questions cover almost ALL of them!!  To the moderator: Should I break up this listing and place it in several categories?

The missus and I have had enough of Australian and American federal  politics...so, have decided to move to a less 'politically correct' place. Must be a warmer (but not super hot like Las Vegas), tropical place with a lower cost of living for similar lifestyle in USA as well as relatively safe, friendly people.  So far we have narrowed our search down (in order or preference):
1. PUERTO RICO
2. PUERTO RICO
3. PUERTO RICO
Why?...
I am a US Veteran (USAF 58-62) and the US VA medical benefits are a huge draw-card for us. How does the main VA hospital/medical facility in PR compare to Hawaii/Arizona/Nevada? I had great experiences in those states over the past 4-years.

Returned to Australia 5-months ago to "sell-up" our 'stuff', then make the move. 

We have lived on some pretty remote places...Central Australia, Rep of Nauru, small Australian offshore island, Fiji... so we understand the lifestyle, frustrations, etc... We have visited/worked in many more...Singapore, East and West Malaysia, Bali Indonesia, Brunei, Vietnam, Thailand, New Zealand, Nauru, Tuvalu, Wallis Is, Marshall Is, both Samoa's, India, Maldives, Nepal, Bangladesh, Antarctica (I worked there), border areas of Mexico, USA (most recently Volcano HI, Seattle WA, Prescott AZ, Las Vegas NV)...

Having lived in USA/Mexican border towns when I was young, it was a must to have a smattering of Mexican Spanish...I still try to hold a very basic conversation with 'ham radio' operators in many Latin American countries. The missus speaks 3 languages, but, not Spanish (yet) but says she's willing to learn...and 'immersion' is probably the fastest way to do it!