Do I have to pay taxes in Brazil if I am a brazilian resident of US ?

Hello everyone, here goes my situation

I got married in US  2014, got conditional residence in 2015.
Spent 1 month in august 2015 visiting Brazil with my american husband.

I am in the process of getting permanent resident card and citizenship soon.
Unfortunately, my dad passed of cancer in june 2017.
He used to put me on his brazilian tax returns as his dependent until 2016 (he would sometimes send me money)

I heritage a house that will have my name on it, my brothers, my mother, and my american husband name on it also. ( a brazilian house with 5 names on it, yes, lol)
Brazilian lawyers required a CPF* for my husband. So his name can be in the house.

I just right now found out, that Brazil requires a type of declaration for people who are no longer residing there, which makes you not have to pay taxes in Brasil, but also you get all your brazilian bank accounts canceled since they consider you a non resident.

The problem is, I have a brazilian bank account with 20 thousand reais which is like 7 thousand dollars, and will be receiving 200 thousand reais which is like 50 thousand dollars on it.

1-Will I have to start paying brazilian taxes?
2-Will I have to pay Brazil for income earned in US? (I make less than 20 thousand , me and my husband's joint income is normally 29 thousand or so)
3-Will my husband have to pay brazilian taxes cause he has a house in his name and a brazilian CPF?

How can we not pay taxes in Brazil, by transferring the money over to american accounts maybe, or keeping under my mother's name?

Thank you! I am confused lol

Annabella,

I think you will probably have to file a return. I think you should consult a Brazilian Tax Accountant to assist you.

Jim

Hi Anabanana 123321,

Here´s your solution: