Looking for an apartment in Stuttgart - commuting/rates/general

Hi everyone,

I am a twenty-something professional from Cracow, Poland. I have recently gotten a job with a company in Heilbronn, Germany. This is not my first time living in Germany but my previous jobs were temporary (while I was still a student) and I was provided acommodation by my employer.

I have read tens of articles about the apartment rentals by now but being my anxious self I still have a ton of questions and I would really appreciate if someone could help me out. Please excuse me being so straight-forward but I am quite nervous about the whole moving thing and would like to be well informed.

1. Is it a good idea to rent in Stuttgart and commute (approx. 45 minutes with a train) to another city?  Are the trains reliable? Is it troublesome in winter (e.g. issues on rails etc.)?

2. What is the procedure for apartment rental usually like? I do realize there are differences between the agencies/owners etc. but generally speaking:

- Is it AT ALL possible to rent a place before you actually come to Stuttgart (e.g. how likely is it I will be scammed/ nobody will want to rent their place without meeting me/ nobody will rent a place to me because I am Polish and have no working/living/credit history in Germany)? I have read that owners request crazy amount of paper work (e.g. proof of receiving salary in a few months, credit report, references) - is that true?

- What is an acceptable price? I have seen sources mentioning some approximate prices but then I saw listings for really crappy appartments for approx 1000 euro per month and some for 500 looking pretty good - is this too good to be true? Also, is craigslist reliable? Did anyone use it to find an apartment?