Hello... this is me. :)

Hello all,

Just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to all you wonderful expats living my dream. I'm a 34 YEar old Indian American living in the northern Virginia area.

I'm actively planning a move to Central America (read I want to move there and have been looking into COL, facilities, standard of living, laws, etc. but haven't decided yet) I'm planning on spending a few weeks starting in August and September in Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Panama, and Belize. For one reason or the other all 4 are appealing to me.

That being said, CR is on the top of my list simply for the nature and Pura Vida lifestyle. I have a steady income of $1600 and will be renting for the first 12-24 months after the move. My plan is to buy a house (will pay cash) once I've decided I'm in the right place.

I'm a vet and an immigrant to the US and have lived in places that make the worst neighborhoods in CR seem like a vacation paradise. I can take care of myself better than the average bear. And I have a big dog and can train more dogs So I'm less inclined to be worried about safety.

I've  been around many carribean and Central American countries wearing a tourists hat over the years but also have been skulking the forums and blogs over the last two years on a digital recce. I believe I have my target move boiled down to San Ramon and Perez Zeledon.

Any information and contacts I can garner would be welcome and appreciated.

Whig

Hi Whig, it sounds like you have done some research and have a good plan as far as renting first and so on. If you have any particular questions about San Ramon I'll do my best to answer them.

Can I assume you've been to Costa Rica, Panama, Nicaragua, and Belize as a tourist then?

If so your next step would be to rent in each country for a month or two or at least do some more intense "what is it like to live here?" type trips in each place.

A couple of questions: Do you speak Spanish? If not you should begin to learn imho.