Working in the Philippines but would be transferring to Vietnam

Hello, my name is Emmanuel. I am currently working in the Philippines but would be transferring to Vietnam once the work I am doing is satisfactory for my Vietnamese/British employer. I am a web designer and working for a Vietnamese/British employer and maintaining a few sites (http://thethao247vn.com/ and http://nhandinhbongda360.com/) at the moment. Once my work is ok, I would be relocated in Vietnam.

I need tips on how to live (place to stay, eat) in Vietnam. Also, what's the salary I could ask my employer for someone like me that would work and stay there.

Need help and advice.

where will you relocate in Vietnam?

HCMC

I do not know how your experience is and where your company stays in Saigon to guide you.

- Accommodation: Depends on area. The highest area is District 1, District 7, District 2, and around the area in District 1 (3,5). The further the lower price of rental. As I know, 5 mil VND/ month is for a room (partly furniture) in District 3, 1 (no kitchen). For condo, may be between 6+ mil for a room with fully furniture and kitchen etc. You have to check for your company area first. If it places in District 1, you should rent somewhere near, district 3 is fine too since it is near to District 1 (but depends on areas in District 1, some streets in District 1 link to District 3, and 5 and Binh Thanh District).

- Transportation: You have to have motorbike to move around. Bus system is okay but takes long and it is quite messy especially Traffic jam is happening everyday and every hour in Saigon especially peak morning and after working hours (if you get stuck in Traffic jam, it takes you approximately 2+ hours, so prepare if you use bus you may stuck around 1-3 hours per day). You can use Grab Bike (it is popular), or Uber taxi. Avoid peak hour: 8-10AM, and 6-8PM.

+ 3K VND 1 bus trip regardless of distances.
+ Grab Bike: 15K - 50K per trip depends on distance.