Retiring in Dominican Republic

Hello everyone,

Why did you choose to retire in Dominican Republic? What are the advantages compared with your home country?

What were your main considerations when deciding to move? For example, taxes, ease of transferring your pension, etc..

Are there any specific formalities you had to go through as a retiree moving to the Dominican Republic (for example, is there a particular retirement visa)?

What is the Dominican Republic's healthcare like? Have you had any good or bad experiences dealing with healthcare professionals?

Do you have any tips for other retirees in Dominican Republic?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Good day, Yes I retired from the United States about three years ago. I am a retired police officer from New York and New Jersey area. I was assigned to the World Trade Center and went though both terrorists attacks. I have a few medical issues because of the attacks. So I needed a change in my life. I love the weather here in the Dominican Republic, but is has been very hot this summer. I find living is good, food if you buy American can be very expensive. However you can do pretty well with rent or buying property. Labor is very cheap but gas is very high. Over all the plus beat out the minus to me, every time. To do something positive living here, I started a non-profit organization called the We Are Blessed Children's Foundation to help underprivileged children of the Dominican Republic and other Caribbean countries. So that keeps me busy and it is very rewarding. That is my story.

That's wonderfuel. Thank you Tony B 764 for sharing your story.

Beautiful people, very reasonable cost of living, NO SNOW fantastic year round beaches with nobody around on weekdays. Easy banking, no snow, fresh fruit & veggies, very tough beef, great pork & chicken.
Did I mention no smow? yes. Low crime here.

Tom, full time in Cabrera now 7 years with my beautiful wife.