How long can you stay as tourist by leaving/re-entering?

I saw an earlier thread on this forum here saying it was no problem to effectively live in Malaysia for several years on a tourist permit to entry (as a US citizen I believe I can stay for 90 days at a time), you just need to leave for at least three days at the end of the 90 day period and you'll gain a new 90 day term upon re-entry to Malaysia. However, one commenter at the end of the thread says the rules have changed and you can now only re-enter 3 times per year.

My situation is that my boyfriend might be moving to Malaysia as an expat for his company for at least one year, and since we prefer not to quickly get married for visa/paperwork reasons, I'd like to investigate if it's feasible for me to go with him on a tourist visa/permit for entry. I will be doing self-taught coding so I won't be requiring a real job so tourist visa will work for my situation. If I can only enter 3 times a year, I can reapply for a Japanese passport (I am a dual citizen but my last passport expired a decade or more ago as I exclusively use my US passport now). I'd only do this as a last resort as it will require asking my family in Japan to go obtain government paperwork and mail it to me in the US.

Does anybody have any experience/information as to how it will be best to go about staying in Malaysia on a tourist visa for a period of 1-1.5 years? Will two passports be required, or will I encounter re-entry issues either way?

Check with your embassy in KL. Some nationalities can get a dependent visa if they can confirm they are the equivalent of "common law" spouses. The Malaysian government does not recognise co-habiting, but can be persuaded to recognise a legal status from other countries. That is the first step.

Unfortunately I don't think we would qualify for that per our local government, I had that idea too.