Best area/neighborhood to live in

I am an American currently living in Siem Reap. I plan on visiting Nha Trang in September to see if I like it for my next destination. Doing research it seems like the center of the city is the tourist area. Is this correct? Is north or south of city center better? Looking at the housing section here it seems that most of the apartments listed are in the south. I would like somewhere within walking distance to a beach, close to restaurants (I don't cook), and shopping. Please let me know of any recommended areas/neighborhoods. Thank you

I'm brand new in Nha Trang myself so take my input with a huge grain of salt. Nonetheless, it appears that the only area of town that has the beach, restaurants, and shopping all within easy walking distance is the tourist district. Second to that would be the north area. I personally would prefer the latter to the former but it depends on your tolerance of crowds.

Can anyone on expat forum please give me/us their feedback on what it's like to live in the CT 1 (etc) area near Big C? Thank you! Jane

Hi!
I am living in Nha Trang so I know Nha Trang is the good place to live. There are many toursist in Nha Trang now but most of them live in the city. If you want to live in Nha trang you should rent apartment in An Vien area which is the South of city and not noisy, crazy like in the city. There are many villa for renting in there and you can rent a room in this one. I think the price is not expensive because I saw foreigners rent to live there. The enviroment is good and have also beach in there. There are many local seafoods, foods restaurant in this area and the price is good so I think you feel comfortable to live. It is on Tran phu street which is main street in Nha trang so easy for you to ride motobike to go shopping.
Cheer!