Immigration advice for South Africans

Hi there, dear expats! I'm a South African text editor who can work anywhere on the planet with reliable internet connection.
I'm considering emigrating and have thought of going to Madagascar. What is living there like? A friend is put off by the crime. Is it safer than South Africa?
What is the cost of living like? I live quite simply and have few possessions.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Johan de Smidt

Hi Johan,

Your friend is right - Madagascar is on a very bad lane. In 2009 there was the coup and 5 years of transition followed, and since then it is virtually a "presidential anarchy".

I lived there from 2004-2015 and had a company during 10 years. A big part of my heart is still there, but I could not bear the criminality, the corruption and the environmental destruction anymore. I moved to Nicaragua which is much safer - here the Police really do their job. Infrastructure (streets in the cities and roads in the countryside) are in a very good state and you always see repair teams.

There are a few electricity/internet and water supply breakdowns, but this is nothing compared to Madagascar!

If you have an online business, you could come here on a tourist visa and travel to various countries. Nicaragua is starting to limit the perpetual tourists making one visa run after the other (it seems especially for people coming from the US) - so either change the country every 3-6 months, or create a business (invest about 30,000$).

Thanks, Salsera. So the country to consider is Nicaragua, you say. I will check it out.

It depends on what you want and what you like. If you do not mind living the life of a permanent traveller, you could stay for 3-6 months with a tourist visa in Nicaragua, then take a look at Mexico, Costa Rica (expensive), Chile, Peru... omitting Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala which are infested by the Maras (very dangerous criminals).

If you want to stay you have to apply for residency.