Cost of Living in KL - Potential salary for a family of 3.

Hi There,

I am Mohammed Hafeezulla from Bangalore, India. I am 29 years old married with 6 months old child. I currently work in Bangalore with monthly take home of INR 83,000. My CTC is INR 11,80,000(annually). I have 6.5 years of experience and currently I am a Senior Software Engineer/Senior Application Developer.

I am in talks with one of the leading Service Provider/Consulting company. I have cleared all my rounds and awaiting their call for salary discussions.

Based on the posts I have gone through, the average salary in KL is around 8,000 MYR per month for my experience and skill set. So, would like to know considering family of 3 what offer would be potential to be accepted?

I also would like to understand what all will be deducted from the salary apart from tax? I understand 25% is the tax deduction.

Major expenses I assume would be:

House
Utilities (water, electricity, satellite TV, internet, mobile)
Groceries
Transport
Taxes
Entertainment / Shopping
Medicals

Please add if I have missed any other expenses and request to quote a ball park figure so that I get a clear picture to negotiate. Early response would be highly appreciated.

Many Thanks.

No, tax is not 25%. If you are not working in the country for 182 days or more the non-resident flat rate is 28%  But if you become tax resident, then you pay a GRADUATED system i.e. you pay a set percentage on different bands of salary income. The percentage rises, so people earning 250k or more will pay say 24% on just the income over 250k. If the earn even more, then when they have income that falls within a higher tax band, the percentage changes again.  The rates are shown here:

http://lampiran.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/ … d05aa9d26ehttp://lampiran.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/ … d05aa9d26e