Moving to Merida

As part of my "retirement plan", I have been teaching English overseas for the past 3 years.  I spent 2 wonderful years teaching and traveling in Turkey.  It is a beautiful country with warm and welcoming people.  I spent a few months in Matera, Italy before taking a "test the water" teaching job in Tehuacan, Mexico.  My contract here ends June 30.

I have already made my flight and temporary lodging arrangements to come to Merida on June 30.  I am looking forward to the change and am hopeful Merida will be the place I can settle in and make my new home.  I love teaching and look forward to securing a rewarding position in the Merida area.

I have a long way to go in acquiring Spanish as my second language, however.  Teaching English and therefore spending most of my time in English speaking environments has not proven very helpful in language acquisition.  But, I continue to work on it.  I hope to find a good Spanish teacher in Merida to help me along. 

I have spent a good deal of time reading various expat forums and look forward to not feeling alone once I make the move.  I have gained much insight and assistance from these forums!

I will be looking for permanent housing once I secure a teaching position and welcome any leads/assistance in that regard.  Of course, all plans center around finding a good teaching position but I am extremely optimistic in that regard as I am toward all aspects of this move.

I look forward to meeting and developing relationships with the expat community in Merida as well as social relationships outside the expat community.

Look forward to meeting soon!

Diana

Ladydi3328 wrote: