New members of the Dominican Republic forum, introduce yourselves here – June to December 2017

Hi all,

Newbie on the Dominican Republic forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in Dominican Republic if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

PD : The thread New members of the Dominican Republic forum, introduce yourselves here – 1st quarter of 2017 continues below!

Hello Everyone,

'm Greg nad I am new to the Dominican Republic Forum..

I'm 46 years old retied from the US Navy and currently living and working in Louisiana. After more than 20 years in the military I am planning to permanently retire within the next 12 months and Dominican Republic is one of the places on my list.

I've been there once, but only for a brief stay in Santo Domingo. I would like insight on other places to live and things to do in DR. I am a vey laid back and relaxed person that is looking forward to learning and enjoying a new culture..

Thank you all....

Greg

Welcome Greg! Do lots of reading honey, so much info here for you.

The country is big and diverse. I spent 4 years in Santo Domingo but love the north coast! Each area appeals to different things!

Feel free to ask questions and open new threads as needed.

Thanks planner.. I'll be visiting there in August to start looking around.

Excellent come to the north coast i will show you around!

Welcome Greg.  Lots to read here and lots of good info.  It sounds like you are doing it right by spending some time exploring to see if the DR works for you and where to settle.  We have been on the north coast full time for 11 years now.  After looking over all the info here come back with any questions you may have.
Good luck

Bob K

Thanks Bob,