Planning to move to Chiang Rai.... advise

Hi all...
I'm a journalist from New York City. I have been planning on doing this for a long time and now the moment is almost here. I would like to start a new life in Chiang Rai. As you can imagine I have so many questions....
1. Cost
2. What is housing like and how difficult is it to find a nice place to live?
3. Daily life
4. Homesickness
5. Dating and meeting someone
6. Jobs
7. Visa
8. Expat community

and so much more...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers and see you soon

Chaunce
[email protected]

Chaunce, welcome! Have you visited Chiang Rai? Why did you choose that place?
Many answers for your questions have already been addressed on this site. Do you have specific questions about Chiang Rai?

hi!
I haven't been there, but some friends I know think it will be best for me. I'm looking for a more laid back, friendly vibe where I can golf, live in comfort and meet nice people. I'm told Chiang Rai is a good start.... but I'm open to suggestions.

Greetings Chaunce - Chiang Rai is smaller city yet has all amenities for living.  Higher altitude so cooler mornings and not so hot/humid days compared to Southern/Coastal Thailand.  Only caveat is the smoke/air quality when slash burning occurs around Mar/April every year.  Go take a look and check it out.  Yogi.

I have my doubts about a journalist from New York adapting easily to Chiang Rai as it may end up being too much of a change.  I have lived in the rural hinterlands of Chiang Rai for ten years but moved here after living in Bangkok for thirty years, speaking Thai, having a life of my own and a wonderful wife who is from Chiang Rai.