Relocating to Montenegro

Hi everybody :)

My husband and I are in the process of selling our house in the UK and we are then  planning to get in our motorhome (Betsy) drive to Montenegro ,buy a property and live happily ever after :)
The idea is to buy a couple of apartments to rent for income and a home for ourselves to live in, does anybody know the procedure for doing this?
Do we have to get a visa, register a business, inform the police e.t.c ?
Do we need to register our motorhome there and if so, who with, because we intent to keep our motorhome with us in Montenegro for business and pleasure .
Any advise would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Hello !

The procedure for buying property is very straight forward in Montenegro.
If you want to send me your email address in PM I will send you the Q&A file that I send to the clients who buy property from me (I am a property developer based in Tivat) and which answers most common questions related to Propery Purchase.

You would need to sort out your own Residency indeed if you plan to live here permanently. There are 2 options:
- To buy a property - in which case your Residency is based on Property Ownership
- To get a work permit, either by getting employed by an existing local comany, or by setting up your own company and hiring yourselves.

As part of the Residence Permit Procedure, you will indeed inform the Police / "MUP" of your presence here. One fellow expat has made a very good sum-up of the procedure, which you can find here lake-skadar.com/muppet-list - Again, you can find people to help you for the entire process, so don't be too scared !!

If you plan to purchase several properties is might be wise to do this via your company, for tax purposes. Again I can send you some more detailed information on this, as I work closely with tax/legal partners who can help with all the admin side of that.