Filming in Puerto Rico

Hey everybody, anyone ever shoot an American film in Puerto Rico? I'm a young filmmaker and will be filming an independent feature film in PR soon. The film takes place in Baltimore and I'm looking for urban filming locations that can double for the low-income housing projects of the northeast, basically mid-century 3-story apartment complexes, single story houses, rundown shops, etc.

PR has a website for their film commission with pics of filming locations, but all the photos are of nice areas such as beaches, colonial towns, etc. and they don't really post pics of rundown areas which is what I'm looking for.

I know it will be very difficult to find places in PR that can double for Baltimore but being an indie filmmaker I must make use of what I can get and currently there are great incentives for filming in PR which substantially increase our budget.

Any advice/help appreciated!! THANKS!!

Brun,
There is quite an active film industry in PR and yes, there are places (in San Juan particularly) where you will find areas reminiscent of Batimore tenements and housing projects.

I suggest you take a trip down and just cruise around. There are several casting agencies there with many locals (especially "white-looking" locals and expats) in demand as extras for productions  having "settings" in the States.

Thanks lgustaf! Know of any particular areas in San Juan? Names of neighborhoods/streets I can look up?

Not really. And by San Juan, i mean the metro San Juan area. There are little pockets of areas all over, but I did see several communities near the airport that reminded me of mid-century, inner-city "projects".

Ooh, that's a tough one. If I were you I would contact the Puerto Rico Historic Buildings Drawings Society.