Bar/Restaurant work

Hi guys,

I lived in La Linea and worked in Gibraltar in summer 2002, i just turned up and walked around all the bars/restaurants until i found some work.  Is it still the case that you can just do this?  I want to come back in April this year, only this year I will be staying for around 2 years.  I used to pay 200 Euro a month near the bull ring in La Linea - it was a very small, 3 bed, not particularly nice apartment, but hey - it did me ok.  I mean, it really was tiny!

This time round i can pay more, but don't mind the walk into Gib and will be sharing with 2-3 others, we will double up the rooms so if anyone knows if we can get a 2 bed apartment for around 300 Euros? 

Also, what are the hourly salaries roughly these days? I am willing to work all the hours God sends.

also, i have 2 years sales experience for a very good publishing house in London.  I hear there are many online gaming companies in Gibraltar these days, i could maybe transfer my experience here, does anyone need sales staff?  Im very good but would rather do restaurant/ bar work as im not a fan of the office :-)  What would the salaries be like here - I was an Account Manager

Thanks for any advice.

Hi laurataylor83, welcome on Expat-blog! :)

Check out the Gibraltar classifieds > accommodation section and jobs section. You may post adverts there as well. It might help you in your search.

I wish you good luck and i hope other members will give you some advice.

Christine

Hi, I also lived in Gibrlatar for few months but in 2004 and remember finding bar/restaurant jobs during summer was easy, while living in Spain was very cheap.

Property: Now you would be looking at around €500+ per month for a decent two bedroom flat in La Linea, with Sterling/Euro at €1.15 or less, the rent will take much more of your Gibraltar wages than in 2002. I don't think the salaries has increased a lot since then in GBP terms.