Marrying a Malaysian and living options

Hello, and much appreciation for any info related to the topic.

I'm from the UK and am planning to marry my fiance soon who is a Malaysian and a resident there. I plan to move to Malaysia for a while (possibly a year) and for return visits with the wife after that. I will not be working in Malaysia, but I do plan on either purchasing or renting real estate.

I've been searching around for what is required for marriage in Malaysia and what is required for staying there for 90+ days, and so far it has been a bit confusing; with different rules based on a foreigner's religion, though I haven't found any clear answers on that yet. This is my first time looking to live outside of the UK for more than 2 weeks, so as much info being at hand as possible is important before one is ready to take off.

If anyone can help out with any info on this topic, then that would greatly be appreciated.

A Muslim marriage, the majority, is easy.
If you're a UK citizen, get a certificate of no impediment from your local registry office, get that and your birth certificate legalized (You have to send them to Milton Keynes - get the address from google) and you're in business.
I'm unsure if non Muslims have it as easy but a phone call to the Malaysian high commission in London should sort that one out.

I didn't expect such an informative post, thank you very much. I will be doing that!

A little surprised the government is that way. I thought Malaysia was secular.

I've found that you can apply for a spouse visa.

Hope that helps someone.

Hi,

I'm from UK and married to Malaysian, been living here for 7 years now on a Social Visit Pass. It takes a few days to sort out the first time and a bit of paperwork to do but this should give you 6 months on your first visit and up to 5 years after that.