How has your life changed in Indonesia

Hello everyone,

Has your life changed since you moved to Indonesia? If so, in what way?

Tell us more about all the changes in your life regarding your family, job, or friends. What about your frame of mind? How would you define your mood?

Leisure activities improve our health and social interactions. How much time do you dedicate to leisure activities and networking nowadays?

Would you say that your standard of living has improved in Indonesia? What income differences have you noticed?

On a scale of 0 to 10, tell us how much your expatriation to Indonesia has transformed your life (0 = no change, 10 = dramatic change).

We look forward to hearing from you!

Priscilla

On a scale of 0 to 10, tell us how much your expatriation in Indonesia has transformed your life (0 = no change, 10 = dramatic change).

10, or maybe 20 ... and seriously positively.
I'll explain in detail later.

I worked as a DJ (and related stuff) for many years back in the UK and did very nicely out of it but, and there's always a big but, trade was starting to fall off as the pub industry died.
A few mates in the same racket went bust and I could see a better than average chance I was going to join them stacking shelves in Tesco.
Anyway, I called it a day when my wife declared she had no interest in moving to England because it was too cold.
My first three years in Java say me doing the odd visit to a school and not much else so things were pretty relaxed. We were spending almost nothing a month because we lived in a village so cash just wasn't an issue.
My wife fancied a move to a larger town so Purwokerto was our next move, still very cheap but I had to do a little work from time to time in order to make sure we had cornflakes on the table.
Moving to one of Jakarta's satellite towns increased our spend a lot so I ended up doing a bit of this and a bit of that to make sure those cornflakes still poured out of the box.