Looking for IT job opportunities

Hi there,

I am a Canadian citizen, I am looking for IT project manger / business analyst / consultant type positions in Germany. I have 12 years of work experience, an MBA and a Computer Science degree.

I don't speak Germany. I am fluent in English.

I realize most companies require German but are there any suggestions on how to find companies that may be looking for someone like me?

MC

Google it. Look for English language IT jobs...

EU citizens are given first priority for employment. A potential employer needs to document that they didn't find enough qualified EU candidates. Even if true, not all want to do the paperwork. Not speaking German is also a big negative yet exactly in the kinds of fields; high tech, sciences etc. where specialized skills are needed, it is more often an exception. I know of a couple of non-EU members who were non-German speakers who found IT jobs in Germany in the past years. With your qualifications you might have a chance.

But I also know one person who came here for an IT job and spoke at least 3 languages and was making a good go at learning German. Yet I don't think she was happy. Even if not required for work, one needs to feel integrated in the society. Speaking little to no German tends to leave people feeling isolated and frustrated.

A job isn't everything. One should come with the attitude that they are going to make the effort to learn the language even though it isn't easy. Assuming one can limit ones contacts to other non-German speakers is not recommendable. One can survive but will miss a lot of what is going on, have a limited potential for friendships and always be at a disadvantage or need people's help to explain things.