Opening a Cattery in the Charente-Maritime Department

I moved to Charente-Maritime last July with my french husband.  I am thinking of opening a small cattery here, run to english standards from our home which is situated between Jonzac and Pons.  I have 16 years experience working in the family business in the UK running a Kennels and Cattery and have just passed the CCAD (Certificate de Capacite Animaux Domestiques) which enables me to work with domestic animals here in France.  Before I invest I thought it would be a good idea to do a bit of market research to see if it is the sort of service that would be of interest to any of you living here.  I am also a dog groomer and would be looking to incorporate this into my business plan.  It will be a very small and personal service and would love to hear from you as to what you would consider an ideal cattery if you were to use one. 

Tracy

Hello. I think you are possibly the Tracy I knew (and loved) in London for a short while in the late seventies. We worked together in Piccadilly. I moved to Devon in 1980 and although we kept in touch for a while,( I took you for supper to Maxwells in Hampstead one evening)  somehow we eventually lost contact. I used occasionally to speak with your mum at a kennels in Chessington but never caught up with you, sadly.
Coincidentally I almost moved to the Charente myself in the early 2000s, but never completed that little project, like so many others. I had bought a house in Andalusia in the 90s and was planning on splitting my time between the two. But for now it’s Devon and Spain.
If we ever get to speak, and if I am talking to the right person, I must tell you the story of my cat in Spain, if you are interested in cats. An amazing story. Still ongoing. Go on, open the chattery.