Where what how

Hi Guys  newbie here   my wife has an apartment block (duplex) in nairobi with 15 apartments we need to sell and move on where is best to do this  ?? any help will be most welcome is there trust worthy agents around,
or anyone on here interested??

peter

Hello and welcome.

There is a section on here where you can advertise.  Alternatively, there is Expat Link, OLX etc where you can advertise.

There are plenty of estate agents, such as Ryden International, Pam Golding, Knight Frank, Hass Consult.  Of course you will have their commission to think about - maybe around 1.5%, perhaps more. Of course the advantage of an agent is that they have the contacts.

If selling without an agent, beware of brokers.  If a broker introduces you to a buyer, they will expect a commission.  However, the broker might have networked with one or more others - everyone in the chain will expect to be paid and they can be very threatening if you refuse. Bear in mind that a broker may have seen your property being advertised and involve themselves by introducing the buyer.  One of the advantages of hiring an estate agent is that this scenario is unlikely to occur.

Kenyans are wary of taking out mortgages, so will probably be looking for a cash buyer.  Avoid anyone who offers payment in instalments.  For example; someone selling some of their own property to raise the money to buy yours.  What will you do if only some of the instalments are paid?

Lastly, this is an election year, so you may not get top dollar. Equally, the confidence of investors after the election may depend on who runs the next government!

hell thanks very much , Do these agents only get paid after the property has sold or do they expect a payment to start with please

peter