Social scene in budapest

Hi there
I am looking to find a social scene in budapest as I have just arrived. Any ideas?

Well, it might be helpful if we had a idea about your age and interests.

There is a nice social scene over at the Budapest Opera.

But if you prefer Lordi more than Liszt, then as Marilyn said, you do need to give a little more details of your interests.  :)

Hi marilyn,

Now that makes sense. I am 42 but a very young 42. I am looking to make friends so I can share life in Budapest. I enjoy dinning out or in, dancing, walking, music, films, coffee and chats..... you name it and I will be happy to try it. I thought there might be an expat social scene that everyone could hook up too. I know how difficult it can be to settle in a city without those kind of conections. I am an international school teacher and normally I am part of a group of newbies when going to new jobs. This time I came independently. I hope to make sure that I love this city and make the most of all my time. I would love to go to the fireworks with people but nobody to go with. I know sounds like poor me story but I know there will be others.

Anne

Not sure exactly what advice I can give you in the way of meeting new friends.
I am a very, very young 62 year old married lady. Actually a very, very immature 62 year old.
I did meet a few very nice HU ladies at a gym I used to go to. The only thing was the ladies in my age group didn't speak English so I made friends with a couple of ladies that were too young for me, at least 20 years my jr.
They were also single ladies so that was another issue. We had them over for dinner a few times, went to their homes for dinner and drinks a few times but then I realized their lifestyles were too different then mine, the age  thing was not that big of a deal.