Language Barriers Make Getting Around HCM Difficult: Please Advice

Hello Exparts in HCM:

I am new in HCM from USA, visiting HCM. I want to get around, but I cannot communicate with drivers of motorbikes and taxis who do not speak or understand English. Please advice how easily I can navigate my way around the city to see places and meet new people in the expart community.

Thanks

Go to Phatty's Bar 46-48 Ton That Thiep Street, Ho Chi Minh City, plenty of expats there!

Have a few large ones and then you will be able to communicate with the locals....

Thanks for advising. But what "large ones" do I need to have at that place?

Libhero wrote:

Large ones = any kind of alcohol....  :dumbom:

A few other tips - use Uber to get around because you'll be able to enter pick-up and destination locations without having to speak much to the drivers.  Go to the "backpacker's area" to meet visitors, expats, and locals who speak English.  If you want to meet expats only, then hang out in district 2, Thao Dien area... a popular expat pub there is Saigon Outcast (Google it).

Libhero - One of the successful techniques is to use your mobile phone (ideally an iPhone) to show the drivers an address in Vietnamese language (from TripAdvisor or from some other site), or even a location on Maps. I also use Translate at shops or grocery stores if I am looking for a particular food product.

Learn basic phrases ("May I have a 6-pack of Bia Saigon, please ?!) and your local landmark to make your way home ("New World Saigon Hotel, please), and of course, finally, say "Cam On" as often as possible. After you successfully exit Phatty's, make your way to Pasteur Street and have a beer at each of the pub outlets there. Lots of expats and local hostesses there to help you gain tips on the city and life in general ...

All the Best!