From Riyadh to Bahrain

Hello folks!

I'm willing to spend the coming weekend in Bahrain, and would love to hear your recommendations. I'm new in Riyadh so I aint much familiar with available options for renting cars..etc I also heard that there is a metro from Riyadh to Dammam. Which option do you recommend?

I have never been to Bahrain, so I welcome any suggestions such as hotel reservation, places to attend such as beaches and clubs..etc

Thanks,
Tony

Take a flight from Rio to Dammam, about 45 minutes, rent a car and take the causeway to Bahrain.

You can try the train but don't recommend it.

As for hotels in Bahrain, depends on what you like, they usually have furnished apartments there and you can go through booking dot com for them. Juffair is the happening spot in Manama close to restaurants, café, bars, clubs etc.  Amwaj Islands is also nice but catering mostly for sheeshas.

Other than that, you can watch movies, shopping and other stuff to do in Bahrain.

Not bad for a weekend getaway.

edit: as for clubs, there is this nice sushi joint which turns into a lounge after dinner, as well make sure to visit Meat & Co on Friday night, go early as place gets packed. I think it's called Adilya or something the area...

Thanks for the valuable info. I'm going with 2 of my friends and we thought about renting a car from here. We are all new in Saudi Arabia so it is kind of activity we are trying to make.

Considering you're new, can anyone of you rent a car? did you all check visa requirements ? exit re-entry and all the bells and whistles?

Trip will be 3-5 hours till you reach the causeway and another 30-60 minutes at the causeway. Car rental companies don't offer unlimited mileage so depending on the car you rent you'll end up paying for extra mileage and make sure to fill up in KSA before entering Bahrain.

Yea we already got driving licenses. I have been here for 4 months but I still consider myself new :)