New to expat.com.

Hello all
My name is George and I am new to the expat.com site.  I am a retiree considering becoming a part year resident in Belize.  I recently traveled to a local resort in Belize and had a positive experience.  I will post on that later.  I hope I can find information and instruction on successfully transitioning to the tropical Belizean lifestyle.  I enjoy outdoor activities, especially boating, fishing, tourism and hiking.  I am on my second retirement and am working part time in the logistics and transportation industry.  I also hope to make new friends in the expat community.
Regards,
George

Regal Eagle;

Welcome George,
I am glad to hear you had a positive and enjoyable experience in Belize.

You will certainly find information and instruction on successfully transitioning to the tropical life on this forum. Some will contradict others so you will have to find your reality some where in the middle. I think most will agree though, that day to day life here in Belize is much different than the experience of staying at the resorts.

Good luck with your research, ask your questions of several people, and ultimately be honest with yourself when assessing the info. to make an informed decision. I often say; "The reasons that some of us stay are ironically the exact same reasons many others leave".

Bill is correct you have to be honest and have to think about what moving from a first-world country to a third world country is going to do for you

Hello Katzgar
I am looking for a quiet lifestyle with lots of outdoor activities.  Thanks for your input.
Regards,
George

It's common for North Americans moving to Belize to try and replicate their North American lifestyle which is pretty much impossible to do down there you just will not find or it will be very difficult to find the products and foods and so forth that you had in North America so quiet is possible but a lot of it has to do with what your expectations are

Hello Katzgar