Got a job offer in Oman with 964 OMR basic

Hi,

I am an Engineer and got a job in Oman with
Basic salary - 964 OMR
Housing amount - 347 OMR
Additional allowance - 63 OMR
Transport allowance - 100 OMR
Total take home salary - 1474 OMR.

I have a family of 3. Wife and 1 son studying in 1st standard in a Reputed school in India.
- I need a 2 BHK decent house mainly in Muscat or other area.
- Indian school education expense
- Average monthly expense including electricity and household?
Please suggest me the approx. expenses in Muscat.
Can i Manage with this much salary and how much would be the saving after all the expenses?

Your honest advice is highly appreciated.

Regards,
Arun Kumar

Well your expenses depends on your living style. Here is a rough estimate for you;

- 2-3 Bed Room House at a good location around 250 OMR with Electricity, Water
- Average Monthly Expenses - around 200 OMR
- Indian School - No Idea (I am from Dushman Desh - Pakistan :P)
- You must have Oman Driving License and a Car to avoid huge transportation cost in Muscat. This will cost you around 400 OMR. OMR 7/hour is Drive Training Fee, 35 OMR for each Drum Slop & Road Test.

Hi arunmech,

Suggest you first read through the numerous similar posts you can find in this forum. All cost details have been discussed in detail there. Costs have not changed much from then to now. So it would all be pretty much similar only.

Just to clarify a fairly good 2 BHK apartment would cost you about R.O. 400/month rent. Yes, for R.O. 250/- per month rent you can find a 2 BHK apartment, but it would most certainly be rundown and dilapidated. And you would have to pay another R.O. 150/- per month only on its upkeep !

I am not getting into any details now, but the salary quoted is more than sufficient for leading a reasonably comfortable life for a family of your size. Yes, you can easily save upwards of 50% of your income every month, if you spend a bit prudently and not splurge.