Wanting to head out to incredible NZ

Hello all!

I'm new to Expat.com and I'm excited to be here! I'm hoping I can get some much needed guidance in moving over to this incredible country, NZ and meet some people along the way :) This is such an awesome resource of a site for all involved in their Expat journeys and so glad to have access to this!

I'm currently 24, working as an IT Environments Engineer in a massive world wide gaming development company. Where I help run over 2500 virtual servers(VmWare) and maintain the companies product, troubleshooting etc.

It's my dream, and has been for a good 10 years, to move over and start over a new life in NZ. I've followed through countless posts, endless Googling and exploring on NZ and have decided a few months ago that this is where I really want to be!

I've met up with an Immigration agent who says I shouldn't have trouble finding work in the IT industry as it is apparently booming in NZ. I know that finding work from where I currently am in South Africa for NZ is really hard without actually being in NZ.

This is where my main concern, questions and worries lie, My agent has stated that I should get around 140 points if I don't live in Auckland(Also note I do not have degrees, diplomas etc but certificates of exams I've written in IT fields which are recognised world wide).

However my agent says I should go on a "Vistors Visa" where I live in the country up to 6 months while looking for work, the agent then too sends out and hunts for jobs with my CV with their own recruitment agents in NZ. They then write up and assure the potential employer that it will be no extra expense to them, process is easy for them etc and then I apply for a work visa going off of the employer agreeing to hire me.

Sadly SA is not on the Working Holiday Visa list so that is not an option. And to get a Working visa I need to secure a job first. So is this "Vistor Visa" up to 6 months my best way?