What you miss most once outside of Indonesia?

I lived in Indonesia for 3 consecutive years as a student. I left the place 2 and half years ago. I feel some sort of nostalgia with that beautiful "Garden of the World"... That place was so stunningly beautiful, raining every other day, spring 12 months of the year and particularly the native INDONESIANS were the sweetest people I have ever met and its becoming not bearable for me to remain outside that tropical paradise and I am planning to come back... I like the following food very much:  Bubur Ayam, Sate kambing, Nasi Padang, Roti  Unyel and Mie Aceh... May be as a student I could not visit very expensive restaurants...

I just would like to ask the experiences of others, particularly those who lived there for few years... Coz its difficult to unfold the true nature of a place by paying a short visit...

The expensive restaurants are fine, but the best food usually comes from street vendors.
I can see why you want to return; Indonesia is fantastic.

These days I very rarely travel outside of Indonesia.  There is no need, and most importantly, there is no desire.  Earlier on in my almost 18 years of full time living here, I used to regularly travel outside of Indonesia…most always as a necessity (visa renewals), or business. 

For any expat who has seriously adopted Indonesia, thus making it, home, what is most missed is of course, being home.  And, Indonesia is very easy to embrace as home.

Expats can of course never abdicate their cultural roots…the make up of who they are and where they come from.  And of course, expats can never be truly Indonesian, no matter how much they infuse themselves in the culture and way of life here.  And that includes those, who like myself, have taken on full Indonesian citizenship.