Renewal of "residente pensionado" cards

We will soon need to reniew our "cedula" and I was wondering if anyone (we are Canadians) have done it lately, through BCR, and what documents were requested.
We have looked in many internet sites, and all of them show different requirements.
I understand the process has improved, but still wondering what is requested.  Thank you all for your help.
M-C

I have been renewing mine for 26 years now without a big deal..I am a Brit with duel US Citizenship but think it is the same for all ex pats.Just take your current  Permenant res. card  to the Immigration office (There is one just on the outskirts of Heredia. I  never needed any extra paperwork,,Not even my passport , and they give a 5 year extension as needed.I just did it 2 months ago..Good Luck

A friend of ours tried to renew his Pensionado Residency at BCR recently, but he ran into a glitch, requiring him to now make an appointment at Migracion.  They claimed that the pension funds must be deposited into a CR bank, but that was not a requirement for him previously.  They said he must go to Migracion if he cannot meet that requirement.  If you do have a pension deposited into a CR bank, you should be ok.  My wife and I renewed our Rentista Residency at BCR recently and did not encounter any problems.  We had to provide the following: original and copy of current cedulas, current CCSS cards, passports, and a receipt showing current  payment to CAJA; and a bank statement relating to our rentista deposits.  (Rentista does require that funds be deposited into a CR bank.)  It took a few weeks for our new cedulas to arrive at our local post office.

Thank you Pebs and redbeard !