Newbie to expat forum

Hi, all,
I recently returned, tho temporarily, to Canada after 4 years of working in Nanjing, China.  I anticipate going to Ecuador early in October to look for part time work as an high school ESL teacher or teacher trainer resource person and find my retirement home.  I have decades of experience in this line of work, so am optimistic about finding something in the public sector, either at the secondary or tertiary level.  I worked in the private school sector in China, and have had enough of seeing families buy their kids' grades, and of one's popularity being a primary factor in determining job security. As well, I hope to do some free lance  copy editing. I will start my search in Guayaquil, and hope I can find both home and work somewhere within an easy trip to the beach, other expats, and a horseback ride.  If you have any advice for me, don't hesitate to share info about costs of living, rent, food, entertainment, getting around, etc. 

How much monthly income will I need to live simply but comfortably, 2 bedroom apt, internet service, cell phone, food, a couple of day trips a month with hired transportation, eating out at least once /week.

lois2b wrote:

I will start my search in Guayaquil, and hope I can find both home and work somewhere within an easy trip to the beach, other expats, and a horseback ride.  If you have any advice for me, don't hesitate to share...

Dear Lois,

Welcome to the Ecuador forum.

Perhaps you are choosing Guayaquil because it's Ecuador's largest city and many of the incoming international flights land there.

I suggest you reconsider.

Guayaquil is hot and humid ... and the street crime is the worst of any large city in Ecuador.  You can't spend all your time in Sambo sector.

The Big G is over an hour's drive from the ocean, but is subject to Ring of Fire seismic events.

There are some Expats there, but they usually don't stay long.