Moving to Krakow ?! Opinions

Hi Guys,

My name is Simon. I am an Italian expat living and working in London. I've been in the UK for about 11 years. My best friend is Polish and after a few trips to Poland I think I fell in love with the Country. We were thinking about moving to Krakow and start perhaps a new life there. I guess we are both slightly sick of London, though I still love it very much.

Guys I would really appreciate your opinions on the matter, I worked in customer service for a long time, I am a train manager for the underground here. But I had enough of it. I have a BA in Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies, and a MA in Interpreting and Translation.

Do you think I could possibly find anything in Krakow?

What about life there?

I don't know why for some odd reason I am super excited about the whole thing.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

Thank you very much for reading and listening.

Regards,
Simon

Hi Simon.

My husband and I moved to Krakow from the UK nearly 2 years ago.
We never regretted taking this decision.

It is a very cultural city. Live music (we like jazz clubs but there are also some concert halls with different music), good theatres (some plays are with subtitles), art exhibitions, lots of really great restaurants, lots of tourists (which we like, as it gives the city variety and life), massive amount of parks and squares, close proximity to the mountains and a very central location to visit Europe (e.g. 5 hours drive to Vienna, 6 to Budapest, 6 to Berlin). The weather here is also great. Despite the common opinion in the West, the winters are mild. The summers are fantastic: up to 40 deg. As an Italian, you probably will love it...

People are nice here, although my husband and I have the advantage of me being Polish (returned to Poland after 25 years of emigration, original from Gdansk though).