Business etiquette in Vietnam

Hello everybody,

As you know, professional habits may differ from one country to another. In order to help newly arrived expats better understand their new professional environment in Vietnam, we warmly encourage you to share information and insights about the do's and don'ts in the workplace.

For instance, are there office manners? How do you greet your co-workers? Do you greet your management differently? Is there a dress code? Particular rules to observe? Maybe a professional body language?

On another level, what is key for a successful professional meeting? Are there any steps to follow? How do you a start a negotiation?

In other words, what are the most important things to know for a successful professional integration in Vietnam?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience!

Julien

I worked as an intern for 6 months at Hanoi University of Science, I found something strange( would I say different), usually after lunch break everyone take a nap for about 30-40 minutes(it is also common in other work places from my little research).
At first,I felt a little uncomfortable watching colleagues sleep at work, which is absolutely unacceptable in country.
So be ready for an after lunch nap, new expats. :)

In my experience it isn't about expats learning local business etiquette but Vietnamese behaving in a truly professional way.

I think it much depends on the level that you are doing business. For example, at Director and Senior Manager level the etiquette is very formal. So you need to remember to use the correct forms of address (Anh; Em etc).

Also, always receive someones business card with both hands and (don't know if the next bit is important in Vietnam but it is very important in Japan): Never put someones business card in your back pocket. Likewise when handing someone your business card, make sure it is the correct way up and present it using both hands.