Seeking legal advice after Guangzhou Worlda scam

Dear expats,

I should have know better but I signed a contract with a company called Guangzhou Worlda Cultural and Educational Services, Ltd. in Guangzhou, China.  I was to be hired as a subject teacher but the contract stated "English".  I asked why and was told it was necessary to obtain the visa.  I have a lot of documentation about our discussions regarding the job and location (which was also changed by the company).  I have little knowledge of the Chinese legal system when it comes to expat contract workers and am wondering if Skype conversations, emails and the like hold any weight in the Chinese court system.  I would like to seek damages including airfare, the cost of the visa and residence permit and legal costs. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!  Thank you.

Good luck with that one !!

Thanks...I'm sure I'll need it.  I'm assuming for the company to be operating as it is, some red envelopes are already being exchanged.  To be honest, I'm pursuing this more on principle than the possibility of any monetary recompense.

One long time expat talks about such situations in his book "A Guerrilla Guide to Doing Business in China"
Amazon Link
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51aLIjvx92L._SX367_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Here are a couple of extracts: